IMA® (Institute of Management Accountants) recognized the achievements of outstanding students, student chapters, and educators during its virtual Annual Meeting of Members this past June. IMA is pleased to extend congratulations to these fiscal 2021-2022 recipients and to remind students and educators about upcoming deadlines:

Awards: Educators

  • Kimberly Zahller, Appalachian State, won the Ursel K. Albers IMA Academic Mentor of the Year Award, which honors an academic mentor or student chapter advisor who has made significant contributions to IMA overall and IMA student members in particular.
  • Daniel Siciliano, CMA, CFM, CPA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; and Wendy Tietz, Ph.D., CMA, CSCA, CPA, Kent State University, won the R. Lee Brummet Exemplary Educator for Educators, which recognizes distinguished academics in the area of management accounting, particularly those with a record of scholarship in the field, service to IMA, and the promotion of management accounting as a profession. 
  • Douglas M. Boyle, DBA, CPA, CMA, University of Scranton, won the IMA Research Foundation’s Distinguished Scholar Award, which recognizes a mid-career or later researcher who has made outstanding contributions over a sustained period of time to the applied management accounting literature.
  • Bryan W. (Will) Demeré, University of Missouri, won the IMA Research Foundation’s Emerging Scholar Award, which recognizes an early-career researcher who has made a meaningful and important contribution to the applied management accounting literature.

Awards: Students

  • Kevin Olivis, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, author of “Benefits of IMA from a Student’s Perspective,” won the Student Manuscript Award
  • Alex Viljaste, Robert Morris University, was awarded $5,000 as this year’s Stuart Cameron and Margaret McLeod Memorial Fund Scholarship winner, in recognition of his outstanding academic achievement and contributions to IMA.
  • Meghan Gilbert, University of Houston-Clear Lake, was awarded $7,500 as the winner of the Century Student Scholarship, given to an outstanding student who attends a school endorsed by the IMA Higher Education Endorsement Program or an IMA student chapter member. 

In addition, the following students were awarded IMA Memorial Education Fund (MEF) Scholarships in acknowledgement of their academic merit and IMA service: Joanna Marie Quimangan Acosta (University of Nevada, Las Vegas); Marissa Angelo  (University of Scranton); Margarita Cornejo-Jimenez (Alvernia College); Charles Michael Csaszar (University of Scranton); Meghan Gilbert (University of Houston-Clear Lake); Kendall Mortensen (Utah State University); Jash Ketan Nanavati (CHRIST Deemed to be University); Ma Chrizelle Omotoy (University of Nevada, Las Vegas); Claudia Donna Pitts (University of Scranton); Shreya Sarawgi (CHRIST Deemed to be University); and Kaitlyn Struiksma (Grand Canyon University). Awards for these scholarships ranged from $1,000 to $2,500.

Students selected for the Student Leadership Experience were Puneet Kaur Anand (CHRIST Deemed to be University); Emma Rose Boyle (University of Scranton); Katherine Hanus (Dixie State University); Zahraa Jassar (American University of Beirut, Lebanon); and Apoorv Maheshwari (CHRIST Deemed to be University). 

Awards: Student Chapters

  • The following schools were selected as Outstanding Student Chapters in the Award of Excellence Competition, which recognizes the top student chapters that promote IMA's mission and vision statements as well as provide a broad spectrum of activities and services to their student members. All chapters at the Gold level receive a $500 monetary award. 
    • Gold Chapters:
      • Athens State University
      • Brigham Young University
      • Culver-Stockton College
      • Grand Canyon University
      • Robert Morris University
      • Stark State College
      • University of Hawaii at Manoa
      • University of Louisiana at Lafayette 
      • University of Nevada, Las Vegas
      • University of Scranton
      • University of Southern Indiana
      • Utah State University
      • Valdosta State University
    • Silver Chapter:
      • Ashland University
  • Teams of students from University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and University of Scranton were selected as finalists in this year’s U.S. Student Case Competition. Each of the top four teams received $3,000. The winning team, from University of Nevada, Las Vegas, was awarded an additional $2,000. Team members of the winning team were Joanna Acosta; Dan Lin; Mariah Cruzado; Nicola Lai; and Briseida Vega, with Daniel Siciliano, CMA, CFM, CPA, serving as faculty advisor. 
  • The winner of the 2021 Global Student Case Competition was University of Philippines Diliman. Team members were Isaiah Kyle S. Inocencio; Nicole Chelsey G. Pua; Clarizze Faye B. Mondoy; Von Ryan B. Salosagcol; and Jamila Victoria B. Domingo, with Mikhael Anjelu B. Magana serving as faculty advisor.
  • The IMA student chapter at University of Louisiana at Lafayette won the Clark Johnson Achievement Award in recognition of its innovative achievement in meeting the needs of IMA regular and student members. They were awarded $5,000.

Upcoming Deadlines: Students

Students are reminded that the first deadline (October 31) for the IMA Student Chapter Award of Excellence is approaching soon. This year, IMA will conduct the Award of Excellence Competition a little differently. All schools who submit for the Gold level and fulfill requirements will receive a monetary award of $500. Please make sure to read the complete rules before applying. A new Excel form has been created to try to streamline the submission. 

For the IMA Student Case Competition, submissions are now required to be in PowerPoint format (not video). For the U.S. competition, the top four teams will compete live at the semifinals, to be held on Saturday, June 10, during IMA’s Accounting & Finance Conference (IMA23) in Minneapolis next year. The winning U.S. team will receive $4,000 and will then compete in the Global Finals on Sunday, June 11 (visit the regional websites to learn more about the regional competitions). The other semifinalist teams will each receive $2,000. 

Semifinalist teams will receive a stipend for travel expenses in addition to all team members earning a CMA Scholarship. At the Global Finals, the top team will take home $3,000 and the other teams will receive $1,500. Students can find the case for the 2023 competition, “Kunapipi Gardens: Transfer Pricing in the Service Industry,” in the August 2022 issue of Strategic Finance. See the IMA website for more submission details

Upcoming Deadlines: Educators

Nominations for the IMA Research Foundation’s two annual awards – the IMA Distinguished Scholar Award and the IMA Emerging Scholar Award – are being accepted from September 1, 2022, through April 1, 2023. The Foundation also recently introduced the IMA Doctoral Scholars Program (which replaces the Doctoral Summer Research Scholarship Program and the Doctoral Student Grant Program). Please visit the IMA Research Foundation website for more details.

The IMA website is the source for other information (including application forms and deadlines) related to all awards for students and student chapters and for academics