IMA® (Institute of Management Accountants) recognized the accomplishments of outstanding students, academics, and student chapters at this year’s Annual Conference & Expo, held in San Diego earlier this summer. 

In the academic category, this year’s winners were:

  • Brenda Sue Mullen, CMA, CSCA, CPA, Ashland University, won the Ursel K. Albers IMA Academic Mentor of the Year Award, which honors an academic mentor or student chapter advisor who has made significant contributions to IMA overall and IMA student members in particular.
  • Di Wu, Ph.D., CMA, CPA, California State University, Bakersfield, won the R. Lee Brummet Award for Educators, which recognizes distinguished academics in the area of management accounting, particularly those with a record of scholarship in the field, service to IMA, and the promotion of management accounting as a profession. 
  • Ashley Stampone, CPA, The University of Scranton, won the IMA Faculty Leadership Award, given to a faculty member who has demonstrated significant leadership activities at the national, regional, and/or local levels of IMA.
Di Wu is this year?s recipient of the R. Lee Brummet Award 
 Di Wu is this year’s recipient of the R. Lee Brummet Award.

In the student category, this year’s winners were:

  • Jessica Syme, Ashland University, author of “Journey to my CMA,” won the Student Manuscript Award.
  • Andrea F. Hoffman, Culver-Stockton College, was awarded this year’s Stuart Cameron and Margaret McLeod Memorial (SCMS) Scholarship in recognition of her outstanding academic achievement and contributions to IMA. This scholarship award is in the amount of $5,000.
 Andrea Hoffman was awarded this year?s SCMS Scholarship
 Andrea Hoffman was awarded this year’s SCMS Scholarship.

In addition, the following students were awarded IMA Memorial Education Fund (MEF) Scholarships in acknowledgement of their academic merit and IMA service: Samuel Adams (Utah State University); Sanjari Chelawat (University of Texas at Arlington University); Scott Dell (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater); Joshua Harner (University of Las Vegas, Nevada); Justin Holmstead (Brigham Young University); Tressa Lacy (University of Washington-Tacoma); Angela Littlefield (University of Missouri Kansas City); Jessica Rachelle Peters (Utah State University); Nathan Phillips (Utah State University); and Elijah Toa (Utah State University). Awards for these scholarships ranged from $1,000 to $2,500.

IMA student chapters honored this year were:

  • The following schools were selected as Outstanding Student Chapters in the Award of Excellence Competition, which recognizes the top student chapters that promote IMA's mission and vision statements as well as provides a broad spectrum of activities and services to their student members:
    • Athens State University
    • California State University, Fresno
    • University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • The University of Scranton
    • Utah State University
  • Chapters at the following schools won an IMA Certificate of Excellence:
    • Gold:
      • Ashland University
      • Culver-Stockton College
      • Missouri State University
      • Stark State College
      • University of Southern Indiana
      • Valdosta State University
    • Silver: 
      • Brigham Young University 
      • Grand Canyon University 
      • University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Teams of students from Texas State University; California State University-Bakersfield; University of Nevada, Las Vegas; and University of Southern Indiana were selected to participate in the finals of this year’s Student Case Competition. Each of the top four teams received $3,000. The winning team, from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, was awarded an additional $2,000. This is the second consecutive year that UNLV received the top honor in this competition. Pictured below are members of the winning team [from l. to r.]: Faculty Advisor Daniel Siciliano; Annie Lu; Alex Durham; Ingrid Zarate-Albarran; Bryan Shaffer; and Claire Stanley.
  • The IMA student chapter at Stark State College won the Clark Johnson Achievement Award in recognition of its innovative achievement in meeting the needs of IMA regular and student members. They were awarded $5,000.
Winners of the Student Case Competition from UNLV 
 Winners of the Student Case Competition from UNLV.

Students are reminded that the first deadline (October 31) for the IMA Student Chapter Award of Excellence and Outstanding Student Chapter is approaching soon. More information and the application are available here. In addition, students can find the case for the 2020 Student Case Competition, “Carmine's Sacramento Wine Tastings,” in the August 2019 issue of Strategic Finance.

Doctoral students should also be aware of some recent changes to scholarships awarded by the IMA Research Foundation. The Foundation will now present two awards annually: The IMA Distinguished Scholar Award (previously known as the IMA Research Foundation Siegel Lifetime Achievement Award) and the IMA Emerging Scholar Award (previously known as the IMA Research Foundation Emerging Scholar Manuscript Award). The Foundation is accepting nominations for these awards from September 1 through January 31, 2020. The Foundation also introduced the IMA Doctoral Scholar Program (which replaces the Doctoral Summer Research Scholarship Program and the Doctoral Student Grant Program). Please visit the IMA Research Foundation website for more details.

The IMA website is the source for other information (including application forms and deadlines) related to all awards for students and student chapters and for educators