IMA® (Institute of Management Accountants) honored the accomplishments of outstanding students, educators, and student chapters at this year’s Annual Conference & Expo, held in Denver, this past June.

In the educator category, this year’s winners were:

  • Passard C. Dean, Ph.D., CMA, Saint Leo University, won the Ursel K. Albers IMA Academic Mentor of the Year Award, which honors an academic mentor or student chapter advisor who has made significant contributions to IMA overall and IMA student members in particular.
  • Liyan Wang, CPA, Peking University, won the R. Lee Brummet Award for Educators, which recognizes distinguished academicians in the area of management accounting, particularly those with a record of scholarship in the field, service to IMA, and the promotion of management accounting as a profession.
  • Mohammad Nurunnabi, Ph.D., Prince Sultan University, and Roopa Venkatesh, Ph.D., University of Nebraska at Omaha, won the IMA Faculty Leadership Award, given to a faculty member who has demonstrated significant leadership activities at the national, regional, and/or local levels of IMA.
  • Paul E. Juras, Ph.D., CMA, CPA, Babson College, and Thomas P. Klammer, Ph.D., CPA, University of North Texas (retired), were recognized with the IECJ Outstanding Contribution Award for their contributions to management accounting research.

In the student category, this year’s winners were:

  • David Hanna, Valdosta State University, won the Student Manuscript Award for his article, “My Experiences with the IMA,” which will be published on the IMA website.
  • Jacob Smith, Utah State University, was awarded this year’s Stuart Cameron and Margaret McLeod Memorial (SCMS) Scholarship in recognition of his outstanding academic achievement and contributions to IMA. This scholarship award is in the amount of $5,000.

In addition, the following students were awarded IMA Memorial Education Fund (MEF) Scholarships in acknowledgement of their academic merit and IMA service: Cassandra Cameron (University of Akron), Jared Flake (Brigham Young University), Emily Gold (Culver-Stockton College), David Hanna (Valdosta State University), Douglas Jepsen (Brigham Young University), Jevonne Shepherd (California State University-Northridge), Muhammad Sohail (The University of Texas as Dallas), Joseph Standon (Utah State University), and Nikole Strubbe (Western Illinois University). Awards for these scholarships ranged from $1,000 to $2,500.

IMA student chapters honored this year were:

  • Chapters at the following schools won an Award of Excellence Outstanding Student Chapter, which recognizes the top student chapters that promote IMA's mission and vision statements as well as provides a broad spectrum of activities and services to their student members:
    • Athens State University
    • Culver-Stockton College
    • Grand Canyon University
    • Utah State University
    • Valdosta State University
    • In the Gold category:
      • Brigham Young University
      • University at Buffalo
      • University of Southern Indiana
      • University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
    • In the Silver category:
      • Ashland University
      • Michigan State University
      • Missouri State University
      • Stark State College
      • University of Arkansas
      • University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • In the Bronze category:
      • University of Texas
  • Teams of students from American University of the Middle East; University of Nevada, Las Vegas; University of Southern Indiana; and Wright State University were selected to participate in the finals of this year’s Student Case Competition, held during the Annual Conference & Expo. Each of the top four teams received $3,000. The winning team, from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, was awarded an additional $2,000.
  • The IMA student chapter at Brigham Young University won the Clark Johnson Achievement Award in recognition of its innovative achievement in meeting the needs of IMA regular and student members. The award winner receives $5,000.

Students are reminded that the first deadline (October 31) for the IMA Student Chapter Award of Excellence and Outstanding Student Chapter is approaching soon. More information and the application are available here. In addition, students can find the case for the 2018 Student Case Competition, “BabyFreedom: Stakeholders, Strategy, and Qualitative Analysis,” in the August 2017 issue of Strategic Finance magazine.

Once again this year, IMA will be sponsoring its CMA Video Contest. The contest, which was introduced last year and won by a team of students from the Philippines, will ask participants to develop a two-minute or less video to showcase their pride in CMA certification and inspire others to recognize the benefits of IMA’s “essential credential.” Details about the contest will be available on IMA’s website in the fall.

Please visit IMA’s website for more information (including application forms and deadlines) related to awards for students and student chapters and for educators.