Photo of Student & Educator Awards Recognition Luncheon

IMA® (Institute of Management Accountants) honored the accomplishments of outstanding students, educators, and student chapters at this year’s Student & Educator Awards Recognition Luncheon, held on June 19 during IMA’s Annual Conference & Expo in Las Vegas.

In the educator category, this year’s winners were:

  • Marcia M. Vinci, Johnson & Wales University, won the Ursel K. Albers IMA Academic Mentor of the Year Award, which honors an academic mentor or student chapter advisor who has made significant contributions to IMA overall and IMA student members in particular.
  • Monte R. Swain, Ph.D., CMA, CPA, Brigham Young University, won the R. Lee Brummet Award for Educators, which recognizes distinguished academicians in the area of management accounting, particularly those with a record of scholarship in the field, service to IMA, and the promotion of management accounting as a profession.
  • Olen L. Greer, Ph.D., CMA, Missouri State University, won the IMA Faculty Leadership Award, given to a faculty member who has demonstrated significant leadership activities at the national, regional, and/or local levels of IMA.
  • Karl Joseph Olsen, Ph.D., CMA, CPA, Utah State University, won the Emerging Scholar Manuscript Award for his work titled “CEO Narcissism and Accounting: A Picture of Profits.” This award, established by the IMA Research Foundation, acknowledges the exceptional manuscript contribution of a single emerging scholar (or lead author recognition) of management accounting who has a received a terminal degree (Ph.D., DBA, Ed.D., JD) within the last seven years.

In the student category, this year's winners were:

  • Kevin Steed, Brigham Young University, won the Student Manuscript Award for his article, “Monopoly, Accounting, and the IMA,” which will be published on the IMA website.
  • Gregory Alan Schenk, Utah State University, was awarded this year’s Stuart Cameron and Margaret McLeod Memorial (SCMS) Scholarship in recognition of his outstanding academic achievement and contributions to IMA.

In addition, the following students were awarded IMA Memorial Education Fund (MEF) Scholarships in acknowledgement of their academic merit and IMA service: Angela Kalra Bird (Brigham Young University), Mitchell Paul Bruce (Utah State University), Amir Moeini (Kent State University), Ryan Hawkley (Brigham Young University), Diane Ndidi Isibor (Valdosta State University), Dalhou Johnson (Florida Atlantic University), Taylor Randles (Ashland University), Gregory Alan Schenk (Utah State University), Nicholas Sharapata (Brigham Young University), and Jessica Syme (Ashland University). Awards for these scholarships ranged from $1,000 to $5,000.

IMA student chapters honored this year were:

  • Chapters at the following schools won an Award of Excellence Outstanding Student Chapter, which recognizes the top student chapters that promote IMA's mission and vision statements as well as provides a broad spectrum of activities and services to their student members:
    • Athens State University
    • Culver-Stockton College
    • University of Louisiana at Lafayette
    • Utah State University
    • Valdosta State University
    • Stark State College
  • The following schools received an IMA Certificate of Excellence:
    • In the Gold category:
      • Brigham Young University
      • California State University Fresno
      • Grand Canyon University
      • Missouri State University
      • Temple University
      • University of Arkansas at Monticello
      • University of Buffalo
      • University of Wisconsin
      • Whitewater
    • In the Silver Category:
      • University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • In the Bronze category:
      • Ashland University
 Students from American University of the Middle East
Students from American University of the Middle East

  • Teams of students from American University of the Middle East, Brigham Young University, Southern Adventist University, and University of Southern Indiana were selected to participate in the finals of this year’s Student Case Competition, held during the Annual Conference & Expo. Each of the top four teams received $3,000. The winning team, from the American University of the Middle East, was awarded an additional $2,000. In China, the award for the Student Case Competition went to Southwestern University of Finance and Economics.
  • For the second consecutive year, the IMA student chapter at University of Hawaii at Manoa won the Clark Johnson Achievement Award in recognition of its innovative achievement in meeting the needs of IMA regular and student members.

Please visit IMA’s website for more information (including application forms and deadlines) related to awards for students and student chapters and for educators.

Students are reminded that the first deadline (October 31) for the IMA Student Chapter Award of Excellence and Outstanding Student Chapter is approaching soon. More information and the application are available here. In addition, students can find the case for the 2017 Student Case Competition, “Profits on Trial at Darby & Larkin, LLC,” in the August 2016 issue of Strategic Finance or by clicking here.