Skip to Main Content

Research Foundation

Research Foundation

IMA's Research Foundation is dedicated to funding relevant, thought-provoking research that furthers the knowledge and scope of accounting and financial management. To date, the Foundation has bestowed more than $1,000,000 in research grants to academics and doctoral students.

  • Applied Research Track
    • This track helps bridge the gap between academics and management accounting professionals while encouraging knowledge development in the profession.
    • Submissions due by January 20th
    • Applied Track Overview

  • IMA Incubator Grant Program
    • The Incubator Grant Program awards grants of up to $5,000 for small Proof of Concept projects that will lead to more in-depth research.
    • Submissions due January 15th
    • Incubator Grant Overview & Application

  • Emerging Scholar Manuscript Award
    • This award recognizes the accomplishments of the newest members of the management accounting academic community.
    • Submission Date: January 31st
    • Emerging Scholar Program Overview

  • Doctoral Summer Research Scholarship Program

  • Research Grant Program
    • The Research Grant Program awards grants for innovative research proposals relating to primary management accounting activities such as decision support, planning, and control.
    • Submissions: Ongoing
    • Guidelines for Submitting Research Proposals

  • Doctoral Student Grant Program
    • The Doctoral Student Grant Program assists accounting doctoral students who are pursuing research that has the potential to contribute to the management accounting profession.
    • Submissions: Ongoing
    • Doctoral Student Grant Program Overview

  • Siegel Lifetime Achievement Award
    • This award recognizes excellence in funded research. Nominations will be reviewed based on the nominee’s body of research, relevance to the mission of the IMA Research Foundation, and contribution to the management accounting body of knowledge. The winning submission must demonstrate practical value to accounting and financial professionals.
    • Nominations Due: March 1st
    • Siegel Lifetime Achievement Award Overview & Nomination Form

Questions about IMA's Research Foundation's Research Program and Doctoral Student Grant Program can be submitted to:

Kip Krumwiede, CMA, CPA, Ph.D.
IMA Director of Research
Committee Staff Liaison
+1 (800) 638-4427, ext. 1732


Trustees and Directors

Research Foundation Trustees

  • Gregory A. Jonas, Ph.D., CMA
    Case Western Reserve University
    Committee Chair

Research Foundation Directors

  • Margaret L. Andersen, Ph.D.
    North Dakota State University
  • Dr. Karen A. Campbell, CMA, CFM, ABC
    Lid Machine Co.
  • Giovanni Chin-A-Sen, CMA
    Blue Bird Corporation
  • Gary M. Cokins, CPIM
    Analytics-Based Performance Management LLC
  • Dr. Gary M. Cunningham, CPA
    Gävle University
  • Anthony P. Curatola, Ph.D.
    Drexel University
  • Kip Krumwiede, CMA, CPA, Ph.D.
    Committee Staff Liaison
    IMA Director of Research
  • Emil Diaz, CMA, CPIM, CSCP
    Parker Hannifin Corporation
  • Shane DiKolli, Ph.D.
    Duke University
  • Dipankar Ghosh, Ph.D.
    University of Oklahoma
    Research Doctoral Proposal Review Chair
  • R. Lynn Hannan, Ph.D.
    Tulane University
  • Douglas T. Hicks, CPA
    D T Hicks & Co.
  • Anjum Israr, CGMA
    Asian Development Bank
  • James M. Kohlmeyer III, Ph.D., CPA
    Clemson University
  • William R. Koprowski, CMA, CFM, CFE, CIA, CHFP
    College of Charleston
  • Thomas W. Lin, Ph.D., CMA
    University of Southern California
    Board Liaison to Foundation
    Performance Oversight and Audit
  • Susan H. Maddux, CPA
    Country Music Foundation, Inc.
  • Keith Maki, CMA
  • Srikrishna Mankal, CMA, BSEE
    Precision Castparts Corporation
  • Dr. Gavin McQuarrie, CMA
  • Mark D. Mishler, CMA, CFM, CPA
    Seton Hall University
  • Bruce Neumann, Ph.D.
    University of Colorado
    Research Academic Proposal Review Chair
  • David E. Stout
    Youngstown State University
  • Dr. William B. Tayler
    Brigham Young University
  • Kristy L. Towry, Ph.D.
    Emory University
  • Mark D. Walters
    Principal W.F.T.
  • Susan Weiss, CMA, CFM, Ph.D.
    Bryant University
    Awards Program Chair
  • Dr. Jidong Zhang
    California State University, Fullerton