CMA® Certification

CMA Exam Scores

Parts one and two of the CMA exam are scored on a scale of 0-500. Candidates are given different "forms" of the exam, and it is necessary to establish a passing score for each form. This takes into consideration the relative difficulty of the questions contained in each form. In order to equate all scores for all forms of the exam, the scores for each part are placed along a scale from 0 to 500. On this scale, a score of 360 represents the minimum passing scaled score. The scaled score allows candidates to know how they performed in relation to the passing standard of 360.

On each part of the exam, there will be 100 multiple choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions. You will have 3 hours to complete the multiple choice section and one hour to complete the essays. The essays will be presented after you have completed the multiple choice section of the exam or after 3 hours, whichever comes first. Once you complete and exit the multiple choice section of the exam, you cannot go back. You must remain in the essay section to complete the exam. Note: You MUST answer at least 50% of the multiple-choice questions correctly to be eligible to take the essay section.

The Transition Exam is scored on a scale of 200-700 with a passing score of 500.

Exam Results

Approximately six weeks from the end of the month in which you tested, ICMA will mail your exam results to you. Results for the Transition Exam will be mailed approximately six weeks after the close of the testing window. At the time grades are mailed, results are also available online in your Account Profile transcript. Requests for scores via e-mail or telephone cannot be honored. 

Performance Report

Performance Reports for Parts 1 and 2 are sent via postal mail only to candidates who fail an exam part. Performance reports are mailed approximately 14 days after exam results are posted to the candidate's transcript. Performance reports show the candidate's performance as satisfactory, marginal, or unsatisfactory for each of the 5 key topic areas from the multiple choice section of the exam as well as the overall performance on the essay section of the exam.

Performance reports are not provided for the Transition Exam.

Enroll Now

Ready to earn your CMA? You must be an IMA® member to apply for the CMA program.

Join IMA to get started today.

If you are an IMA member, get started earning your CMA here.

Enroll in the CMA program.

Already enrolled for the CMA and ready to schedule your exam?

Register now:
2-Part Program
Chinese Language Program

Important information for CMA Candidates who enrolled in the four-exam part program prior to February 28, 2010

Click here for your exam and schedule requirements

The Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India (ICWAI)

ICWAI and ICMA have entered into a mutual recognition agreement based on an extensive review of the competencies and rigor of their proprietary certifications. ICMA recognizes ICWAI members as CMAs upon payment of this one-time entrance fee in fulfillment of the agreement reached between these organizations. Proof of ICWAI certification is required. Click here for more information.

For a member of IMA with the CMA certification interested in ICWAI certification click here for more information.

© 1997–2014, Institute of Management Accountants, Inc.   10 Paragon Drive, Suite 1, Montvale, NJ 07645-1760   (800) 638-4427 or +1 (201) 573-9000 

Site Map  |  Site Help and FAQ  |  IMA Policies