CMA® Certification

Certified Financial Manager

The Certified Financial Manager (CFM) certification program was established in June of 1996, and 4,940 financial professionals have earned the CFM designation. The CFM exams were discontinued December 31, 2007. The IMA continues to support all CFM holders with appropriate member services, recognition of the CFM achievement, and the maintenance of certification records.

The requirements for certification included passing four examinations testing economics, management, corporate finance, management accounting, decision analysis, and ethics. In addition, the candidate was required to complete two years of relevant work experience, hold a Bachelor’s degree, be a member of IMA, and abide by the Statement of Ethical Professional Practice. Once certified, a CFM is required to maintain membership in IMA and complete 30 hours of continuing education annually.

Although the CFM certification was an excellent program, the program was unable to find a sustained audience. Therefore, the Board of Regents made the decision not to expend further resources on the CFM examination process but rather to dedicate those resources to supporting the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) program. Much of the finance material in the CFM exam was moved to the CMA curriculum.

For a listing of Active CFMs, click here.

Enroll Now

Ready to earn your CMA? You must be an IMA® member to apply for the CMA program.

Join IMA to get started today.

If you are an IMA member, get started earning your CMA here.

Enroll in the CMA program.

Already enrolled for the CMA and ready to schedule your exam?

Register now:
2-Part Program
Chinese Language Program

Important information for CMA Candidates who enrolled in the four-exam part program prior to February 28, 2010

Click here for your exam and schedule requirements

The Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India (ICWAI)

ICWAI and ICMA have entered into a mutual recognition agreement based on an extensive review of the competencies and rigor of their proprietary certifications. ICMA recognizes ICWAI members as CMAs upon payment of this one-time entrance fee in fulfillment of the agreement reached between these organizations. Proof of ICWAI certification is required. Click here for more information.

For a member of IMA with the CMA certification interested in ICWAI certification click here for more information.

© 1997–2014, Institute of Management Accountants, Inc.   10 Paragon Drive, Suite 1, Montvale, NJ 07645-1760   (800) 638-4427 or +1 (201) 573-9000 

Site Map  |  Site Help and FAQ  |  IMA Policies